SAG awards 2013. Mostly more ‘Meh’

When it comes to the awards season I always find myself caught up in the pre-event red-carpet hype of ‘who will wear what by who from when’ yet when it comes to the crunch, what actually ends up parading down the red carpet tends to be extremely underwhelming. While the trend for ‘old Hollywood glamour’ is a reliable constant it seems sometimes that it is taken too literally and many of the actresses dress like ‘old hollywood stars.’ (I’m pointedly directing that at Julia Stiles who not only looks ancient in Amen Couture but also looks decidedly like an earlier version of Joan Rivers) I’m raging as well to see one of my favourites Julianne Moore looking limp and saggy in a ill-fitting (and ill-chosen) Chanel Haute Couture dress. It does her no favours and makes me really wonder about ‘label-blindness’ and the culture of  labels paying big stars big money to wear their clobber.

Parabal Gurung, surprisingly didn’t dress J.La (who was extremely ‘meh’ in a navy Dior Gown) but was seen on a few actresses, my favourite being January Jones’ monochrome high-neck dress. I also think Jenna Elfman nailed the 90′s trend (in a really good way) in a Balmain sheer black dress while Nina Dobrev in her Elie Saab t-shirt dress showed us how to wear head-to-toe pink without looking like an overgrown child (Lea Michelle, I don’t care if it is Valentino, you look daft).

021m

059m

073m

Monochrome – January Jones in Parabal Gurung, Claire Danes in Givenchy, Jenna Elfman in Balmain


024m

047m

Sweet sophistication: Jennifer Garner in Oscar de la Renta, Nina Dobrev in Elie Saab 


022m

025m

046m

Looking wrecked: Julianne Moore in Chanel Haute Couture, Lea Michelle in Valentino and Julia Stiles in Amen Couture

And finally, Julie Bowen in what appears to be a leather Johanna Johnson gown… I half love it, half want to give her a slap. Thoughts?!


055m

all images via style.com , thanks a thousand

